Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Sisters of the Quilt by Cindy Woodsmall

Sisters of the Quilt by Cindy Woodsmall is the entire Hannah Lapp trilogy in one volume.  The book is comprised of the following stories:

When the Heart Cries
This was an edge-of-your-seat, heart pounding story set among the Amish.  I was drawn into this book right from the start - it was a "sit down, hang on tight, roller coaster ride" through the entire story.  After 19 year old Hannah Lapp's secure Amish life is turned upside down after "the unmentionable" happens to her, all aspects of her life begin to spiral out of control.  Her parents turn on her, she loses the love of her life, her sister spreads horrible falsehoods about her throughout the community, and Hannah decides she needs to leave her Lancaster community behind in search of the aunt she never knew about until finding a letter hidden by her father.  I was so sorry to see this book end...and it left me on the train with Hannah Lapp, so curious as to what will cross her path in the next book of the series.

When the Morning Comes
Hannah's arrival in Alliance, Ohio isn't all roses.  The train depot for Alliance is basically non-existent anymore and without knowing anyone, she's left to find her own way into town.  After spending the night on the street, she's in desperate need of some medical attention.  She finally meets her estranged aunt and settles into Englisher life - training to become a nurse, falling in love with Martin, caring for her aged aunt...until she gets word from home that her life-long friend, Matthew is seriously injured in a fire.

When the Soul Mends
Hoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fianc√©, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series. 

Without giving too much away about each story, I have to say of all the Amish fiction I've read, this series is my All-Time favorite!  There were just enough twists and turns throughout each individual story, that the ultimate outcome wasn't easy to predict, but I was happy at how it all turned out.  I highly recommend this book series.  Cindy Woodsmall is one of the best storytellers of Amish fiction I've come across!  She doesn't just focus on her main characters, but her secondary characters are so well rounded and fit into the story in ways that sure don't keep them in the shadows.  This was an incredible series!  Bravo, Cindy Woodsmall!

Thanks to the wonderful folks at WaterBrook-Multnomah, through their Blogging for Books program for the complimentary copy of this book for my review.

No comments:

Post a Comment